For those running Avira and have not updated to SP1, read this before you do.

Post Reply
Guest

For those running Avira and have not updated to SP1, read this before you do.

Post by Guest » Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:30 pm

At this time I do not recommend installation of Avira Antivir 10 SP1, as it has been crashing several systems into a fully locked-up state requiring a cold boot to unfreeze.

Conflicts with Spybot Search & Destroy, BOINC (seti@home), and Server software have been seen.

Crashes involve ntdll.dll access violations, locked hard drive volumes and delayed write failures, and depleted system resources.


From my forum: http://issviews.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=2021

Other thread on this are at:

http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=121830
http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=121537

Warxas
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Thank you!

Post by Warxas » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:36 pm

I was considering updating to SP1... I won't now!

Is there anyway to make sure it's not done automatically?

Guest

You should find in your

Post by Guest » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:17 pm

You should find in your update settings (options) area a means to turn off program updates. Am not running this AV so am assuming as it is available with most AV software.

Galaxy S
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:24 pm

Avira SP1

Post by Galaxy S » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:24 pm

I got the update about two weeks ago. They said on the Avira forum that you needed a system restart after the update, but i didn't need to do that =) it updated just like any update and my avira and my computer works just fine....still =)

Warxas
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Done

Post by Warxas » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:38 pm

Thanks again! :D

My main computer's power supply broke. Because of that, I'm on a backup, while I wait for the new power supply to come in. All I needed was for Avira to corrupt the backup. lol :)

Guest

thank you mate -

Post by Guest » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:08 am

thank you mate -
@ Galaxy S = you are totally right -

Guest

It may be specific to the

Post by Guest » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:43 am

It may be specific to the persons computer who had the probelm but posted details of his problems just in case it was more widespread.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests