What is ads.js?

0utfl0ws

What is ads.js?

Post by 0utfl0ws » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:04 pm

I've been using WOT forever, and I am also a web developer.

Just today I noticed that in the developer console an object is getting logged from 'ads.js' - which I discovered is a script from WOT.

Just briefly looking at the object it appears to be some sort of analytics gathering resource, and there are terms in the file (not to mention the name of the file itself) that suggest it is related to advertising, but, and I stress this - I haven't really dug into it.

Can anyone - preferably the developer who included that file - tell me what this is?

mhamstra

RE: What is ads.js?

Post by mhamstra » Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:38 pm

I also noticed this today (and have published it here if anyone wants to take a peek https://gist.github.com/Mark-H/a8ca1e743debad0b688e) and am very worried about this. From reading the source it looks like it wants to insert ads into the page (specifically, sliding in from the right and expanding it on hover), though it is not yet doing that luckily. The code also mentions an opt out feature.

Very trustworthy, this Web of Trust..?

jvalero

Post by jvalero » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:34 pm

Same. Also a Web Developer and as much time I spend in the dev console, this had to of happened sometime over the last few days. Today was the first time I noticed it, it was not showing up middle of last week. A word of advice to WOT, if injecting ads into pages is your new business model get ready for a rude awakening. I'm hoping this is a misunderstanding though.

Post by Guest » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:33 am

Hello
perhaps this can help
https://www.mywot.com/en/forum/9830-tes ... dvertising

I think you didn't get an answer because the right place to post such requests is
https://www.mywot.com/en/forum/2

This thread should be moved

Sami

Post by Sami » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:54 am

Good morning guys,