User avatar
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:58 am

I see no phish.

Post by logicman » Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:31 pm

I'm still a bit puzzled, but I hope to figure out how this one got tanked..

Meanwhile, this Professor:
http://www.londonmet.ac.uk/research-uni ... -korff.cfm
is an advisor to:
who have this year awarded the first ever european privacy seal to:
Ixquick(tm) meta-search engine
as reported here:
http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/stori ... 135&EDATE=


Footnote: I just found out that Ixquick had a contract with Overture.
Overture was bought out by Yahoo - it's a sponsored links (paid ads) feature.
Maybe someone found a malware / phish sponsored link and laid it at Ixquick's door?

Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:46 pm

Overture Ad Service

Post by Security_Wiz » Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:40 pm

So, basically, you're saying that in Ixquick search results there might have been an infected ad which would lead to a phising website?

That's probably true, but why would they rate Ixquick badly, why not just rate the phising website bad?

Also, Yahoo! does use Overture, because GoodSearch.com powered by Yahoo! does.

Thanks for doing all this research! Personally, I think that PhishTank has a false positive, but I'm curious to find out more.

One question: If WOT only uses Google Adsense (ratings do not show for text ads in Yahoo!), then how do sponsor results get rated in Ixquick if they use Overture like Yahoo!? Also, I believe that about a month ago WOT did rate Yahoo! sponsored results.

User avatar
Posts: 3506
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

Re: Overture

Post by Sami » Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:23 pm

The add-on shows you a rating only if it can figure out where the link goes. Ixquick seems to have Google ads where the target link is visible.

User avatar
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:58 am

Re: Thanks for doing all this research!

Post by logicman » Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:06 am

My pleasure! :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests