Official download site of VLC Media Player infected

Dutch Mountain

Official download site of VLC Media Player infected

Post by Dutch Mountain » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:19 pm

It appears that the official download site ( hxxps://videolan.org ) of the French designers of "VLC Media Player" is infected.
After the download my PC was behaving weird and I did a check with MBAM.
Even after that I still had 32 PUPs on my PC coming from hxxps://slimware.com
This site belongs to a diet company in NY - USA

<red> RATED
videolan.org
slimware.com</red>

And commented, see scorecards.
Be careful !

* The full story that explains is too much to post here, but can be read in a warning blog on my site hxxps://peterswebsafety.com/spams-scams-news-blog/ <em> ( link disabled but mentioned here, bcoz my board is invisible )</em>

spectre

Re: Official download site of VLC Media Player infected

Post by spectre » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:58 am

Slimware Utilities Holdings, Inc. (slimware.com) was purchased by Mindspark / IAC Applications (iacapps.com) / Smiley Central last year.
See
  • forum.mywot.com/reputation-discussions-f5/iaccap-com-and-other-adware-providers-t4185.html
  • forum.mywot.com/reputation-discussions-f5/regarding-mindspark-com-smileycentral-com-iac-com--t23332-s10.html
  • forum.mywot.com/reputation-discussions-f5/starnet-interactive-inc-a-mindspark-company-t21260.html
It now offers dubious apps which contain PuPs -
EG: virustotal.com/en/file/0d57cff21a8b92dc7bc97da7ea6692c0feae0e0fb5631689812ba37e8ab77a0e/analysis/1515553990/

Apparently they now also own HomeAdvisor, Vimeo, Dictionary.com, The Daily Beast, and Match Group's online dating portfolio, which includes Match.com and Tinder :evil: I would advise members to avoid all these sites.

Site-rater

Post by Site-rater » Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:09 am

Have you confirmed the infection came from the official VLC download? I contacted them via Twitter DM and they deny their software is infected.