What the..?!

Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:14 am

What the..?!

Post by Xp54321 » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:27 am

A Google search for "bitdefender" brings up this: http://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&sourceid=navclient&gfns=1&q=bitdefender. BUT Google gives you this warning page? http://www.google.com/interstitial?url=http://www.bitdefender.com/ More information can be found here: http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.bitdefender.com/&hl=en. Was BitDefender.com compromised or something? WOT still has the site as green. Is this a false positive? (If so, it's the first one I've seen.) Also Firefox warns it is an attack site but it relies on Google for the list of sites to warn you about....

Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:40 am

False Positive

Post by wehaveitall » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:16 am

Very good catch Xp! It appears, however, Google has an error.

If you perform a Who-is lookup (there's a link on the scorecard), the last time the website information was updated was August 2008. It was created by the current owner in 2001, and its location is still San Jose, California.
The website has not been compromised, and Bit Defender did not put anything dangerous up. Therefor, it's an error. And you caught it very fast. The advisory was placed five hours ago, according to the advisory page (see the corner of the screen) at http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-US&site=http://bitdefender.com/.

I posted a topic in the google help forum, explaining this problem. You can see if anyone's replied at http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Web+Search/thread?tid=046da7ca6d2f1ca7&hl=en
As you can probably guess, my username is WOTfan.

Thanks again for pointing this out.

A big thank you to all the WOT staff

Anony Mouse
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:28 am

You have a hijacker on your comp, I'm afraid.

Post by Anony Mouse » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:22 am

The information you're getting is not wrong, it's correct.

There's a hijacker on your comp working in the background which is trying to take you to a pishers' attack site. You'll find that happens with whatever download site or page you want to visit.

This has been commonly happening, mostly in USA and Canada.

I'd suggest that you run your anti-Virus and get rid of the worms that have proliferated by now all over your computer.

I would recommend Avast anti-Virus, because it's the best in the Market and it's free of cost for Home Users.. If you're a Commercial Organization, I'm afraid you'll need to buy it, since they give it free only to home users and Charitable Organizations as their contribution to the Community.

The reason I know about this is that a similar worm has hit three of my friends in USA [I'm now in India] and I'm helping them find resolutions. One had no choice but to format her hdd, which was a pity.

All the best.

Anony Mouse.

Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:40 am

Excuse me?

Post by wehaveitall » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:23 am

Where are you getting this? There's no hijacker on my computer, I went to bitdefender myself to test it. If you go to the real google advisory link (and you can even type it in AND check WOT's rating and see its no spoof) it shows BitDefender as unsafe.

PS:I'm using Avira, the number 1 firewall/antivirus

A big thank you to all the WOT staff

Anony Mouse
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:28 am

Maybe you're right and I'm wrong.

Post by Anony Mouse » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:40 am

I'm just sharing what I know from the most recent experiences of my friends.

But then, I'm not Savonarola.

I'm just a li'l techie with limited experience.

Sorry I couldn't help.

Anony Mouse.


By the way, all the links given by you above are showing Green on my comp and when I went there, they were all green.

The Google warning said it might be harmful based on a visit which they reported.

The Google page had one of the listings there, in the related subject, showing Amber.

The link that came up as suspect says it's shareplaza that's infected, by the way.
This is just FYI.

Please ask a few other friends of your to check out the links and you might find them all seeing something else.

If that happens, you might need to re-think a bit, don't you agree?

Just a thought.

Posts: 6987
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

Re: You have a hijacker on your comp

Post by Sami » Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:18 am

No, this is Google saying bitdefender.com has malicious content, as you can see on [url=http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.bitdefender.com/&hl=en t=_self]the diagnostics page[/url]. Either Google has made a mistake or some of BitDefender's servers have been compromised.

Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:31 am

All around !

Post by Athlonite » Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:56 am

Hey Xp !
I have been looking into those links for a good two hrs. now . Checked all and Google won't let me close to any of them. Got around this by Googling the other sites mentioned by Google and did finally get to them. Have to say that some of those bitdefender sites are what Google says, Fraud but, others are legit. I guess it's not just the sites they are referring to but, also the servers on which they are hosted. Some of them have redirected me to pretty bad sites. Have left my mark on them, but others were well, hosting the good stuff. This info. from Google is a bit old . My guess is that most of the malware vendors have changed sites as they usually do.
They don't generally stay in one place too long. Just long enough to make a killing and they are gone. Don't worry , I was sandboxed all night.


Your help is always needed.

Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:14 am


Post by Xp54321 » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:44 pm

So is BitDefender actually malicious? (I went there under FF 3.0.5 sandboxed last night and did not encounter anything malicious. A look through the source code of the page did not seem to show anything suspicious either but the source linked to JavaScript files rather than showing the scripts themselves. For me right now, a Google search for "bitdefender" displays two suspicious results with 8 green but 3 of those are marked by Google as malicious (BitDefender.com). :|

Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:38 am


Post by Galaxyfox » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:01 pm

I just went around the site (ignoring Google and Firefox's malicious site warning) and I didn't find anything harmful and nothing happened to my computer.



Post by Guest » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:03 pm

Hey you Three,bomber command here.Be careful going behind enemy lines when flying solo.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests