Why is my hosting provider rated badly? (kattare.com)

MagicDude4Eva

Why is my hosting provider rated badly? (kattare.com)

Post by MagicDude4Eva » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:24 pm

I don't understand the current ratings (and the lack of comments on the scorecard also don't help).

Look at the scorecard: http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/kattare.com

I have been hosting quite a few websites through them and Kattare was one of the first companies which could assist me with relatively inexpensive Tomcat hosting (that was a good 5-6 years back).

Although the look and feel of the site is very basic, it targets more the tech-savvy user (i.e. no Plesk control panel - mostly command line setup with a very few basic web-based utilities) and I would doubt that someone wanting to host a Wordpress blog would host it there.

As I am fairly new to WOT, I would like to understand the ratings from the senior WOT members please.

Just a guess

Post by Guest » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:08 am

@ MagicDude4Eva,

My guess . . . mind you, just a guess . . . I could be wayyyy off . . . is that there are some disgruntled users that have rated poorly because of their poor experiences. Stating the obvious, but hosting companies are particularly vulnerable to this.

Let me explain. I recently made a switch of hosting companies. In doing my due diligence one of the things I took a look at were the ratings by users ( http://www.besthostratings.com/ ).

The rating system consisted of simply giving a grade from 1 to 10, 10 being the best and of course 1 being the worst.

Some 90%+ of the ratings were 10 out of 10. But now and then there was a clunker in there that gave a 1 rating, and those users gave horror stories about lack of support, excessive down-time, etc.