Why is this site green?..

Post Reply
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:20 am

Why is this site green?..

Post by B-Dawg94 » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:20 am

On the scorecard for http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/freedownloadmanager.org , there are clearly negative comments, and yet it's labeled as a yellow-green color.

Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:40 am

RE:Why is this site green?..

Post by wehaveitall » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:32 am

Hi B-Dawg94,
First of all, the link you provided is an active link to the website. If you believe a website is dangerous, it is asked you take out the www. so that the website is not linked. Please edit your post and take this out by looking at the bottom of the post and clicking edit.

Next. I'm sorry to say, comments do not affect a website's reputation. If you believe the website has an unfair rating, you can report it at:http://www.mywot.com/en/support/feedback/abuse

If you want to rate the website without visiting it, you can go to the scorecard at: http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/freedownloadmanager.org and next to Reputation rating, click edit my rating. Then, select the rating of your choice.

I'm sorry to hear about your dilema, and I will certainly look into the website myself, and rate it based on my findings.


Posts: 4906
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:46 pm


Post by phantazm » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:39 am

Both Siteadvisor and Norton SafeWeb rates this site yellow. And both list examples of red downloads. No comments yet from Norton: https://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=freedownloadmanager.org - but I looked at reviews from Siteadvisor, and it looks like opinions are mixed here too: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/freedownloadmanager.org

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:20 am

Ok thanks wehaveitall.

Post by B-Dawg94 » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:59 am

Ok thanks wehaveitall.

Jon R
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:10 am

It seems that some of the

Post by Jon R » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:10 am

It seems that some of the downloads are safe and some are not. The site itself does not appear to secretly install anything. They simply do not check their downloads for viruses. Norton and McAfee (SiteAdvisor) use fully automated systems, so the bots saw some dangerous downloads, some safe downloads, and a "safe" site and came up with a yellow rating as a sort of average. I hope WOT will change there rating to red, any site distributing viruses should be red.



Post by Guest » Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:46 am

I have been using FDM (the software download tool) for over a year now, and indeed it is safe. I think I got it from the site in question. However, I DID NOT download anything else from the site, so Jon R is probably right . . . they do not check their other downloads.

Interestingly, FDM is GNU software (Open Source). I'm not saying all Open Source software is malware free, but it most often is.

Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:32 pm


Post by Dogteams1 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:46 pm

To All
THe "Site above will tell whats really bad out on the Internet.
Good site to book mark.
Mark T.
Affiliate of Sunbelt Software
Beta Tester
Also in Security for 2 Security Groups.
Now working on my Security Blog&Guitar-Web-Site

Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:52 pm

freedownloadmanager.org is in hpHosts

Post by YoKenny » Sun Jan 18, 2009 3:59 pm

The site is listed in hpHosts so I do not see it at all:

Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:14 am

Download Manager

Post by Xp54321 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:49 pm

If you want a good download manager, just use DownThemAll! It's an addon for Firefox and it's great! :) It is both a download manager and an accelerator. I never noticed much acceleration under DSL but under FiOS...man, the downloads were more than twice as fast. :) https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/201

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests