Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 10:43 pm


Post by shazza » Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:48 pm

As this site currently has a wot trust badge this needs urgent action please.
I first came across this site yesterday when I opened Firefox. It appeared on a
new tab next to my homepage.

Further investigation shows it is blocked by malwarebytes pro

IP / sanityswitch.com (same owner) is blacklisted by hphosts

When I submit to v/t I discover there is an adware called W32/Yontoo
See also emsisoft

spybot have removal instructions for Yontoo.Pagerage spybot forum


dropdowndeals.com see v/t

Dislike (-0)

User avatar
Posts: 813
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:50 pm

RE: yontoo.com

Post by mentalist3d » Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:00 pm

I double checked the sites (more for my own sake) and results were the same, thanks for the info.

all rated

dropdowndeals.com & yontoo.com are still in the green and need more ratings.
Dislike (-0)


RE: yontoo.com

Post by Guest » Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:32 pm

Good catch , Shazza !

Dislike (-0)


RE: yontoo.com

Post by Guest » Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Thank you shazza

I downloaded SanitySwitchSetup.exe and uploaded to VT

File name: SanitySwitchSetup.exe
Submission date: 2011-08-19 17:33:23 (UTC)
Current status: finished
Result: 9/ 44 (20.5%)

Commtouch 2011.08.19 W32/Yontoo.A
F-Prot 2011.08.19 W32/Yontoo.A
K7AntiVirus 9.109.5030 2011.08.18 Adware
McAfee 5.400.0.1158 2011.08.19 Artemis!86CB5026BF8C
McAfee-GW-Edition 2010.1D 2011.08.19 Artemis!86CB5026BF8C
Norman 6.07.10 2011.08.19 W32/Agent.VBAZ.dropper
Panda 2011.08.19 Suspicious file
VBA32 2011.08.19 Adware.Yontoo.a
VIPRE 10210 2011.08.19 Yontoo (v)

Going to rate
Dislike (-0)

Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:27 pm

RE: yontoo.com

Post by Yontoo » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:27 pm

Hello and thank you for your feedback. Yontoo cannot install itself, more cases than none, the software is installed through bundled offers that users sign up for. Our software is neither a virus, nor malware or spyware. We are in contact with malwarebytes pro to get the software taken off their list as they are unknowingly giving our software a bad name. Our software can be easily uninstalled by following these instructions:

Go to your start menu
Click on Control Panel
Click Remove Programs
Remove Yontoo Layers and the PageRage toolbar
Restart computer

If you would like to reach out to us for further assistance, you can do so at this email address: press@yontoo.com, thank you.
Dislike (-0)


RE: yontoo.com

Post by Guest » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:57 am

@ Yontoo
Uninstalling the toolbar might appear easy but not all users are advanced users. There are thousands of BEGINNERS that can fall into installing a questionable toolbar and the most of them do not even know what risks may come with any adware ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adware )

I installed one of your toolbars, I was alerted severaI times by WinPatrol, my Browser was hijacked

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Get your software delisted from the above mentioned antimalware vendors or stop distributing adware and I'll remove my rating and comment.

Thank you

Post scriptum, I would add to the above list


Dislike (-0)

User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:08 am

RE: yontoo.com

Post by evilfantasy » Thu Feb 23, 2012 6:19 am

The below software includes yontoo.com software which is adware. See here: http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/yontoo.com


More here: http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/20336-youtube-full-movie-spam
Dislike (-0)

User avatar
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 1:09 pm

RE: yontoo.com

Post by Amobirius » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:13 pm


Cnet downloaders installed that on my machine with out my knowledge!
Dislike (-0)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests