can I have AdAware and Avast on the same computer?

Post Reply
Universal344
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:32 pm

can I have AdAware and Avast on the same computer?

Post by Universal344 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:01 pm

I have AdAware Free and Avast Home Free on my computer. They both have antispyware capabilities but only Avast! provides real time protection. I have windows defender turned off. It is safe to have both on my computer as long as Avast is the only one with real time protection right?

Thanks!

lordpake
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:57 pm

Yes. "Men make good pets."

Post by lordpake » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:26 pm

Yes.

"Men make good pets."

Guest

Hello, more over you can use

Post by Guest » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:40 pm

Hello,
more over you can use 2 (or more) Antispyware programms.
They recruit each other.

But never use more than 1 Antivirusprogramm, that will be bad for your operating system in worst case.

In my case I use at moment Spybot Search & Destroy, PC Tool Antispyware Doctor and Windows Defender.

As Antivirusprogramm I use a free licence for Aviras AntiVir Premium

if somebody use Avira too, it is easy to get the licence:
see a library of latest free licences on my site:
http://dim1319.weebly.com/
the languages are irrelevant, it works properly and save.

Greeting D.1319

LightAce
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:49 pm

Two AV's

Post by LightAce » Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:02 pm

I had 3 days of Norton 2008 left and so I bought Kaspersky and installed it along with Norton. I will NEVER ever do that again. The computer started slow and the av's kept conflicting with each other. So never have two AV's on the same comp. However for your situation you can cause their not both antiviruses.

lordpake
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:57 pm

Never have two of the same

Post by lordpake » Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:05 pm

Never have two of the same running in background is a good rule :)

No two firewalls, no two antiviruses, no two antispyware. PC can usually have multiple antispyware programs, as long as only one has it's background/real-time protection enabled.

HTH.

"Men make good pets."

phantazm
Posts: 4906
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:46 pm

Never say never...

Post by phantazm » Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:42 pm

I think this is more of a rule of thumb. Yes, there may be conflicts but not always. I used to have AVG 7.5 and Avast on the same pc (plus Spybot S&D). I had no problems...

Now I only use Avast as antivirus, but that's because AVGs big upgrade to 8.0 failed on my pc (but that's probably caused by errors in the windows registry, I guess...)

Furthermore, it's sometimes nice to get a 'second opinion' from an online scanner, and I usually use F-secures. (Btw, both wot and f-secure are finnish...)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests