Homepage doesn't detect IE11 properly

Post Reply
Site-rater
Posts: 5847
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:48 pm

Homepage doesn't detect IE11 properly

Post by Site-rater » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:21 am

Internet Explorer 11 has a slightly different user agent ID than previous versions, and the WOT homepage thinks it is Firefox. Here is the user agent for Windows 10 64-bit:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko
Please note the word Trident in the user agent is what identifies it as Internet Explorer.

For your reference here is the user agent ID for the current version of Edge:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/46.0.2486.0 Safari/537.36 Edge/13.10586
In this one notice the "Edge" name in the user agent. For that browser, the WOT homepage thinks it is Chrome. Might want to fix that one if/when Edge starts supporting extensions.

Female Gasdragon
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:19 pm

RE: Homepage doesn't detect IE11 properly

Post by Female Gasdragon » Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:47 pm

I am having the same problem on the 'Filter by WOT' page using Firefox. WOT thinks that it is Google Chrome.

User avatar
MyWOT-Team
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:05 pm

RE: Homepage doesn't detect IE11 properly

Post by MyWOT-Team » Thu Mar 03, 2016 2:28 pm

BFeely, thanks for reporting that, we're looking into it.

Female Gasdragon, is that because when you land on the Filter by WOT page it says "Add to Chrome"? Currently it only exists for Chrome and clicking the button will do nothing if you're using Firefox.

Site-rater
Posts: 5847
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:48 pm

RE: Homepage doesn't detect IE11 properly

Post by Site-rater » Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:10 am

Hi. As of today, the WOT forum/homepage are still not detecting the IE11 User Agent correctly, and I have to go into compatibility mode to download the add-on.

As the IE11 User Agent shows, it is spoofing Gecko (it actually says like Gecko) thus confusing the server script into thinking the browser is Firefox. If you edit the script to scan Gecko user-agents for the word Trident (the code name of IE's rendering engine) it should detect IE11 properly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests