Unexplainable Thumbs Down

resourcesforlife

Unexplainable Thumbs Down

Post by resourcesforlife » Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:19 pm

I'm still new to MyWOT and the Forum, so I want to get a better idea of how things work.

I've noticed something that doesn't make sense. I've seen in a few places where reputable members with long-standing and good status have placed comments on website scorecards. Their comments are not opinion, but simply stating facts such as, "This site is clean according to URLVoid..." and that comment will get one or two thumbs down. I don't see how someone can disagree with fact.

The only explanation I can think of for such things is: (1) Someone with malicious intent toward MyWOT wants to mess with the comments. (2) Maybe somehow by rating other people's comments as not helpful that somehow reduces their influence at MyWOT, and thus helps the person doing it feel superior and get more influence. (3) A person with bias toward the website in question just wants to do whatever they can to suggest it is not trustworthy.

That's all I can come up with. Maybe someone here has a better answer.

Ultimately, such behavior unnecessarily calls into question the reliability, professionalism, and objectiveness of those on the site. I say "unnecessarily" because most of the people here are polite, knowledgeable, and helpful.

I wonder if there's any way the Admins could install a program into the system that would perform an internal validity / quality-check and detect this kind of thing. For example, if the same user continues to put thumbs down on many comments, this could be detected. It might be a way to help detect and eliminate those who are here simply to mess with the system.

Greg

resourcesforlife

RE: Unexplainable Thumbs Down

Post by resourcesforlife » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:14 am

Well... I've had no answer to my question about unexplainable thumbs down ratings, and the problem seems to have become worse in the past 24 hours.