Web of Trust (WOT) - Search ratings displayed twice

Mykelturn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:55 am

Web of Trust (WOT) - Search ratings displayed twice

Post by Mykelturn » Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:55 am

RE: Windows XP Home w/SP3
Internet Explorer 8 - secondary browser
Firefox 3.6.13 - primary browser
Google - homepage

Lately, within the past couple of weeks, when I perform a search in Google, WOT is displaying twice(2) in both IE8 and Firefox. I have removed and reinstalled WOT for Firefox but nothing changed. I am assuming that a removal and reinstall for IE8 would result with the same problem (no change). The only other common factor I can think of is ... the OS - Windows XP Home and ... using the Google search page on my homepage on IE8 and Firefox. I have two screenshots but don't see where I can upload them here. I don't know if I can included the screenshots inside this post. Any ideas? Please advise and thanks.

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

RE: Web of Trust (WOT) - Search ratings displayed twice

Post by c۞g » Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:14 am

Same config: Xp home SP3 FF [current]

WOT displays normally for me:

HTTP - Google
Image

HTTPS - Google beta
Image

As for including images in posts...
1] Upload image to web, use a free image host such as: Flickr, Photobucket, Tinypic (Photobucket service), ImageShack, etc.
2] place the URL of thie image in the IMG tag

Code: Select all

<img src="http&#58;//img191.imageshack.us/img191/1359/httpgoogle.png" />

To make the image a link for full-size viewing, enclose it into the ANCHOR tag:

Code: Select all

<a href="http&#58;//img43.imageshack.us/img43/2405/httpsgoogle.png" title="full size new tab / window" target="_blank"><img src="http&#58;//img43.imageshack.us/img43/2405/httpsgoogle.png" width="324px" height="400px" /></a>

Anchor:
title - what is displayed when the mouse hovers over the link
target - add "_blank" for onClick to force a new tab or window (browser preference / settings)

Image:
width - display width in pixels
height - display height in ppixels

phantazm
Posts: 4906
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:46 pm

RE: Web of Trust (WOT) - Search ratings displayed twice

Post by phantazm » Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:34 am

Mykelturn: "Lately, within the past couple of weeks, when I perform a search in Google, WOT is displaying twice(2) in both IE8 and Firefox."

Actually, I'm seeing something similar, and initially I was puzzled too.
But in my own case I think the explanation is like this:

I use both WOT and Siteadvisor, and both add an icon to googles list of results.
Looks like WOT first rates the text link (leading to the site in question),
and then rates Siteadvisors icon link (leading to siteadvisor,com).
Result: 2 WOT icons, the second one completely unnecessary.

Looks like a code error, but I'm not sure when it started...

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

re: SA

Post by c۞g » Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:46 am

The OP doesn't mention SiteAdvisor, or any other browser add-ons (used in both IE and FF).

Interesting though, would be worth submitting via Support

Sami
Posts: 6987
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

RE: Web of Trust (WOT) - Search ratings displayed twice

Post by Sami » Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:33 am

Looks like a code error, but I'm not sure when it started...

If there's another add-on that adds links to search results, ours will add ratings symbols to those links too. It sounds like this is what's happening with OP as well.

Sami
Posts: 6987
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

RE: WOT is not alone in the world

Post by Sami » Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:49 pm

You don't need to tell me that. We've been working around compatibility issues with SiteAdvisor for years while it seems McAfee couldn't care less about other add-ons. I'll take a look at the latest problem next week and see if there's something we can do without a risk of stuff breaking when Google changes something next time.

phantazm
Posts: 4906
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:46 pm

WOT is not alone in the world

Post by phantazm » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:56 pm

Sami: "If there's another add-on that adds links to search results, ours will add ratings symbols to those links too"

I don't think that the possibility of other browser add-ons is an exotic exception.
I would rather suspect it to be quite common to have layers of protection.
WOT and SA works differently, and that's why I still use both.

But it's a waste of time that WOT keeps telling me that McAfee is still OK. I know, I know, I know already...

It is also potentially misleading:

If someone looks at the icons, nothing reveals that one of them is 100% irrelevant.
If they touch the wrong one, the site looks super green, rated by a lot of people.
Only if they click through, they'll discover that the rating is for another site.

phantazm
Posts: 4906
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:46 pm

RE: WOT is not alone in the world

Post by phantazm » Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:21 pm

Yes, I remember there have been compatibility issues with SiteAdvisor earlier. And apparently still is.

I hope the problem can be fixed, cause if it develops further the result would be rather absurd.
I mean, what if SA began rating WOTs icon link and added yet another useless icon,
that again is unnecessarily rated by yet another WOT icon. And so on and so forth...

Sami
Posts: 6987
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

RE: WOT is not alone in the world

Post by Sami » Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:30 pm

what if SA began rating WOTs icon link

The WOT add-on doesn't add any links to the page, so that's unlikely to happen.

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

@ Sami - Using WOT, SiteAdvisor, and Google

Post by c۞g » Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:03 pm

Why not a Settings -> Advanced option which if ticked [enabled] would cause WOT to ignore all SA links in search engine result pages. It seems this would be an easy "fix" for those who use both SA and WOT.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests