WOT 3.0 Firefox Released

Dutch Mountain
Posts: 2801
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:20 pm

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox Released

Post by Dutch Mountain » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:40 pm

<quote user="bfeely">
I was told today that I had a reply to a scorecard comment. However, on the new scorecard page, there doesn't appear to be any reply. That said, I'm not sure if the site owner deleted the comment.
[/quote]
No he didn't.
I've asked before if the "reply by the site owner" function was skipped.
On the scorecard of my own site I replied to all comments and these replies are all gone.
New design and not complete yet, I suppose

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by c۞g » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:08 am

This is a virgin install in a new [url=https://www.torproject.org/projects/torbrowser.html.en t=_blank]browser[/url]
I have no browser which contained the old identification fields.
  • weboftrust.witness_id
  • weboftrust.witness_key
My profile recognizes me as a Platinum member with activity score capped at 10,000.
The browser add-on "sees" me as a new user with an activity score of 0 encouraging me to rate to earn bronze level.

[url=http://oi66.tinypic.com/r8f43s.jpg t=_blank][img]http://oi66.tinypic.com/r8f43s.jpg[/img][/url]

Why does the add-on not [url=https://www.mywot.com/wiki/Synchronize t=_self]synchronize[/url] itself to my account / profile when logged in; at least to initiate the browser variables?
  • weboftrust.witness_id
  • weboftrust.witness_key
[/edit]
CSS
.post img {
max-width: 500px
}

really?
what happened to remaining inside of container (100%)?

User avatar
MyWOT-Team
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:05 pm

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by MyWOT-Team » Sun Dec 20, 2015 8:03 am

<quote user="c۞g">
My profile recognizes me as a Platinum member with activity score capped at 10,000.
The browser add-on "sees" me as a new user with an activity score of 0 encouraging me to rate to earn bronze level.
[/quote]

Try synchronizing your account through your profile. If it doesn't fix the issue please be in touch directly with support@mywot.com

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by c۞g » Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:04 pm

<quote user="mywot team">
Try synchronizing your account through your profile. If it doesn't fix the issue please be in touch directly with support@mywot.com
[/quote]
That is the point; there is no ability to manually synchronize account profile to add-on.
Currently, there is no method in the add-on's Settings to:
"synchronize to account"
(but there _should_ be)

Also, in account profile there is no menu tab for synchronization.

[img]http://oi67.tinypic.com/35ckjlz.jpg[/img]

The account synchronize page should remain available and it should list the various browsers which have WOT installed with a manual "refresh" and "remove" functions.
Refresh would simply ensure the browser add-on's activity is current with the user's profile
Remove is to delete old browser(s) from the user's profile.

Whenever a user logs in to their account using a new browser/WOT add-on, the account should recognize this and the synchronize page should request permission to add that browser/add-on to the user's profile.

I run my browser directly from a USB drive.
When the browser is "out of date" and a new version is available, I download the installer to that USB drive, manually delete the old install, and run the installer. Then, I download extensions into the new browser, including WOT. This is about every other month, so it would be nice if WOT Dev Team could resolve the issue.

User avatar
MyWOT-Team
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:05 pm

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by MyWOT-Team » Sun Dec 27, 2015 11:07 am

<quote user="c۞g">
That is the point; there is no ability to manually synchronize account profile to add-on.
Currently, there is no method in the add-on's Settings to:
"synchronize to account"
(but there _should_ be)

Also, in account profile there is no menu tab for synchronization.

[img]http://oi67.tinypic.com/35ckjlz.jpg[/img]

The account synchronize page should remain available and it should list the various browsers which have WOT installed with a manual "refresh" and "remove" functions.
Refresh would simply ensure the browser add-on's activity is current with the user's profile
Remove is to delete old browser(s) from the user's profile.

Whenever a user logs in to their account using a new browser/WOT add-on, the account should recognize this and the synchronize page should request permission to add that browser/add-on to the user's profile.

I run my browser directly from a USB drive.
When the browser is "out of date" and a new version is available, I download the installer to that USB drive, manually delete the old install, and run the installer. Then, I download extensions into the new browser, including WOT. This is about every other month, so it would be nice if WOT Dev Team could resolve the issue.
[/quote]

We’ve looked into this further - please try this solution and let us know if you’re unable to synchronize your account after this.

1. Log out from the website while having the add-on installed
2. Clear cookies on the domain mywot.com
3. Login to the website and go to your profile. The sync button should be offered there.

donsorg
Posts: 4026
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:42 am

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by donsorg » Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:54 pm

<quote user="c۞g">
screenshot
[/quote]

Hi. From your screenshot I see that the website doesn't see the browser extension at all - the button "Protect your Browser" is visible only in this case.

Which version of the add-on you have active in your browser now?

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by c۞g » Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:30 pm

<quote user="donsorg">
Hi. From your screenshot I see that the website doesn't see the browser extension at all - the button "Protect your Browser" is visible only in this case.

Which version of the add-on you have active in your browser now?
[/quote]
Add-on version: 20151208

as acquired here:

Code: Select all

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/

BTW, the add-on needs to be signed
as were the older 2013 versions:
ref:

Code: Select all

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/versions/



Site-rater
Posts: 5841
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:48 pm

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by Site-rater » Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:44 pm

<quote user="c۞g">
Add-on version: 20151208

as acquired here:

Code: Select all

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/

BTW, the add-on needs to be signed
as were the older 2013 versions:
ref:

Code: Select all

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/versions/
[/quote]
I notice the extensions are licensed as GPL 3.0. It seems the extension signing in Firefox may violate the clause commonly known as the "Tivoization" clause in the GPL 3.0, as described at hxxps://www.gnu.org/licenses/rms-why-gplv3.en.html because it locks out modified versions of the extension without Mozilla's permission.

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox not synchronized to existing user account.

Post by c۞g » Fri Jan 01, 2016 4:05 pm

<quote user="bfeely">
I notice the extensions are licensed as GPL 3.0. It seems the extension signing in Firefox may violate the clause commonly known as the "Tivoization" clause in the GPL 3.0, as described at hxxps://www.gnu.org/licenses/rms-why-gplv3.en.html because it locks out modified versions of the extension without Mozilla's permission.
[/quote]
_sigh_
Please read: [url=https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add-ons/Distribution t=_blank]
Mozilla > Add-ons > Signing and distributing your add-on[/url]

NotBuyingIt
Posts: 6556
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:21 pm

RE: WOT 3.0 Firefox Released

Post by NotBuyingIt » Sun Jan 03, 2016 5:25 pm

<quote user="dutch mountain">
I've asked before if the "reply by the site owner" function was skipped.
On the scorecard of my own site I replied to all comments and these replies are all gone.
New design and not complete yet, I suppose
[/quote]

Site owners' replies appear to have been restored to the scorecards now.


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests