ebay.com blacklisted ?

Post Reply
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:07 pm

ebay.com blacklisted ?

Post by TheAnon » Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:41 am

Hi Community,
i have found on robtex, that ebay.com is listed on the site
in blacklist.

Is this site not reliable or did i miss something?

For reference:

Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:30 am


Post by Demiann » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:47 am

It is a completely secure site, but as all web sales take precautions to avoid becoming a victim of fraud ( phishing ).

Best regards!

Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: ebay.com blacklisted ?

Post by QuickMan » Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:35 pm

Yeah you're right that rank may be fit slightly for the Ebay because there are some email-spoofers that may take, use, collect your credit card number and your identity. And some web sellers and buyers over there are sometimes frauds. And mostly unreconized and untrusted sellers can do that. But there's some occasion that Ebay sellers are good and trustable.

User avatar
Posts: 2136
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:09 am

The problem is..

Post by Nulander » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:39 pm

Just my two cents...

The problem with these websites and their ratings, is a related even for the customers experiences of the single users. As you can understand, if happend that someone is followed good by his/her dealer and receive suddenly what s/he has bought, the judgement of all the service will be good. If there was some problems, bad. Here in Italy you can here comments about eBay like "No, I don't trust it, they're all cheaters.", only because of some frauds cases.
MF IT-UESC - Protecting your Digital Experience. Now.

Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

re: ebay.com blacklisted ?

Post by c۞g » Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:24 pm

The actual reference is [url=http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/tools/detail.php?domain=ebay.com&submitted=1029353643&table=abuse t=_self]abuse.rfc-ignorant.org listing for: ebay.com[/url]

The reason it has the listing:
A spam alert was sent to abuse@ebay.com. This is what came back,
indicating that no human reads abuse@ebay.com any longer. This qualifies
ebay.com for an abuse.rfc-ignorant.org listing.

Of course eBay responds to reports of abuse, BUT they also use an [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autoresponder t=_self]autoresponder[/url] as many websites do. When rfc-ignorant.org gets an automated reply = domain is listed.

If a domain is rfc-ignorant listed, no big deal.
If there are several listings, then it's worth further investigation.
Example, you might find a Barracuda listing which is for IP,s not domains, if the IP is a shared server, then it's probably listed, many shared servers are, this does not mean the domain you are researching is the cause, it could be the server (MX) setup.

With robtex, the "Listed in Blacklist" results require some understanding of the service being referenced. IF multi.surbl.org is displayed, then there IS a problem and more likely the domain has a poor rating in WOT (phishtank, joewein, or other reference)

To check for spam blacklistings, use www.mxToolBox.com but again, be resourceful, and investigate any possible "hits."
WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
Thank you all
- G7W

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests