Richmedia popup advertising

YoKenny
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:52 pm

Richmedia popup advertising

Post by YoKenny » Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:22 pm

I was just hit by the invasive ads documented by Bill Pytlovany of WinParol fame:
http://billpstudios.blogspot.com/2009/01/fake-and-deceptive-advertising-is.html

I'll add the Richmedia sites to my HOSTS file to see it that stops them:
127.0.0.1 richmedia.com
127.0.0.1 www.richmedia.com

wehaveitall
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:40 am

RE:Richmedia popup advertising

Post by wehaveitall » Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:31 pm

I checked out Richmedia, however I saw none of the misleading or dangerous ads documented in the blog post.

If you feel the ads are very invasive, however, you can rate the website in privacy accordingly. I would recommend yellow.

WOT ROCKS!

Warxas
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Richmedia?

Post by Warxas » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:23 am

Just to clarify, you are getting RichMedia adds? Not to sound rude but I have never heard of them before, I have heard of RightMedia. Why not install the AdBlock Plus plugin for Firefox, that will block them!

AnonymousSpecial
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 1:20 pm

Richmedia isn't even

Post by AnonymousSpecial » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:12 pm

Richmedia isn't even mentioned on that page. I won't, however give the site a good rating either though because of this report.

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

I won't give the site a good rating because of this report

Post by c۞g » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:16 am

So you're willing to give [url=http://www.richmedia.com/ t=_self]richmedia[/url] a poor rating based on a report that doesn't even mention them?

Why?
What did they ever do to you?

Guest

Huh??

Post by Guest » Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:28 am

Wait a minute . . . wait a minute . . .

YoKenny . . . why did you cite RICHMEDIA when the blog you cited doesn't even mention it?

Andrei_i
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:34 am

Re: Richmedia popup advertising

Post by Andrei_i » Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:34 am

The blog mentioned Yahoo`s RIGHT MEDIA as Warxas said and I suppose YoKenny refered infact to www.rightmedia.com . I sugest for this type of adverising server, for any one who wants to block it`s banner ads, to use a browser add-on like Adblock Plus for Firefox http://adblockplus.org , instead of editing the hosts file , because it`s easier , fast applicable to other ads, selective and easily reversible. It`s like a hosts file inside the browser. But as I know YoKenny is using IE , I recommand him http://www.ie7pro.com/ad-blocker.html

YoKenny
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:52 pm

IE7Pro Ad Blocker

Post by YoKenny » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:57 pm

I use IE7Pro with Ad Blocker but I prefer to come here on the old PIII to view the posts with Opera 10 as IE8 will not go to New posts for some strange reason.

The HOSTS file works for all browsers and is much more efficient in blocking tracking sites like w w w.google-analytics.com, pagead2.googlesyndication.com and ad.doubleclick.net

I was referring to Yahoo`s RIGHT MEDIA and I have yahoo.com blocked in the HOSTS file as well.

I do not like Firefox!

Guest

Typo?

Post by Guest » Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:10 am

So your reference to richmedia was a typo?

YoKenny
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:52 pm

Mea culpa. I ment Right

Post by YoKenny » Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:48 am

Mea culpa.

I ment Right Media

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests