change site description

hmali
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 10:53 am

change site description

Post by hmali » Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:43 pm

I have seen that description of my site <a>http://www.mywot.com/de/scorecard/trends-im-web.de</a> is wrong. I can not recognize how the words were collected.
I have verified my site after login and now I see
"You must have verified yourself as an owner of this site and have an active certificate to edit the details on this page"

Does it mean that I have to buy WOT certificate to change my description?
Thank you for your help in advance.

Figure10
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:46 pm

Yes

Post by Figure10 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:20 am

Yes you do, but you can always change the description of the site itself in meta.

Kraftwerk
Posts: 7981
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:30 pm

Re:

Post by Kraftwerk » Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:53 am

Does it mean that I have to buy WOT certificate to change my description

No of course not. It seems that you have to verify your site as yours (via profile).But the description itself is updated regularly. I´m sure Timo or Sami will help you quickly

hmali
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 10:53 am

The verification via profile

Post by hmali » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:23 am

The verification via profile is done. I see a text field to enter description, but I do not have any button to save.
Should I write a message to Timo or Sami to ask for change?

Kraftwerk
Posts: 7981
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:30 pm

Re:

Post by Kraftwerk » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:27 am

Maybe it´s blocked???

hmali
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 10:53 am

Do you have any idea why it

Post by hmali » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:44 am

Do you have any idea why it can be blocked?
I have verified a second domain waschmaschine24.com, that do not have any description. But I am missing a save button here too. So may my user account be blocked?

Kraftwerk
Posts: 7981
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:30 pm

Re:

Post by Kraftwerk » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:50 am

No, otherwise you couldn´t post. I can´t see the sites in your profile, by the way. Mabye an add on blocks the button

c۞g
Posts: 21225
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:02 am

re: change site description

Post by c۞g » Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:33 pm

http://www.mywot.com/wiki/Scorecard#Description

Description

The scorecard obtains the website's description dynamically through the information supplied by the meta tag

from within the site's index page. In the event that no description meta tag exists, nothing is displayed. This information is updated every 60 days.

An example of a description meta tag:


Code: Select all

<meta name="description" content="WOT is a Free Internet Security addon for Firefox and IE that warns you about online scams and risky websites that try to deliver malware or send spam." />
[/i]

If you remove the meta name=description then the "old" site description remains until:
  1. a meta name=description is appended to the landing page's HTML
    OR
  2. a site is first verified then description is editable by the domain owner.
If you still have problems, contact Support -> Problem with website -> Other

Sami
Posts: 6987
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:43 am

Re: change site description

Post by Sami » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:48 pm

It should be possible to change the description without buying a trust seal. We'll take a look at this on Monday.

Darkenoid
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:18 am

Change Site Description

Post by Darkenoid » Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:18 am

I was wondering this too. There's a typo in the description for my site and I would really like to change it. I want to change the whole description anyway even if that typo wasn't there.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests